Our Team

Meet the NewSci Labs faculty & researchers

Meet Our NewSci Labs


Gordon Erlebacher, Ph.D.

Professor Gordon Erlebacher serves as Chair of the Department of Scientific Computing  and founding Director of the newly created Interdisciplinary Data Science Program, both at Florida State University. He received tenure as Full Professor in the Department of Mathematics and the School of Computational Science in 2005. He received a B.S. in Plasma Physics from the Polytechnique Institute at the Free University of Brussels in 1979 and a Ph.D in Plasma Physics in the Department of Applied Physics and Nuclear Engineering at Columbia University in 1983. He spent 6 years at the NASA Langley Research Center and another six at the Institute for Computer Applications in Science and Engineering in Hampton, VA before joining the School of Computational Science at Florida State University as a faculty in the Department of Mathematics.

Robert Van Engelen, Ph.D.

Dr. Robert van Engelen serves as CEO of Genivia.com, a US technology company founded in 2003. He received tenure as full professor of Computer Science in the department of Computer Science at the Florida State University and served as chair of the department. Van Engelen received the B.S. and the M.S. in Computer Science from Utrecht University, the Netherlands, in 1994 and the Ph.D. in Computer Science from the Leiden Institute of Advanced Computer Science (LIACS) at Leiden University, the Netherlands, in 1998.

Nathan Crock, Ph.D.

Dr. Nathan Crock directs the research efforts at NewSci Labs. He is Affiliate Faculty in the Department of Scientific Computing and the Interdisciplinary Data Science Program at Florida State University. He received a B.S. with honors in Mathematics, an M.S. in Computational Science and a Ph.D. with a research focus on Information Processing in Stochastic Thermodynamic systems. Before earning his doctorate, Nathan worked for 3 years at the Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience and consulted with the Intelligent Robotics Group at the NASA Ames Research Center.

Meet Our NewSci Labs


Eric Sharkey, M.Sc.
Machine Learning Engineer
Jeremy Quinto, M.Sc.
Cloud Architect
Mariana García Prince, M.Sc
User Experience Engineer
Luke Van Popering, B.S.
Machine Learning Engineer
Matt Barattini
Machine Learning Intern
Meet Our NewSci Labs


Lingjiong Zhu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Mathematics at Florida State University

Nuria Gutierrez, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Scholar, Florida State University

Eitan Lees, Ph.D.

Associate Data Engineer, Fidelity
Roberto Maldonado, M.Sc.
Software Engineer, Twilio

John Abascal, B.S.

Doctoral Candidate, Northeastern University